Our smallness is the truth.

In passing, you will find.

I wanted to name this “Death to 2023,” but I thought it’d be too linear.

I would’ve made a statement about knowing yourself, learning your flaws, and some other causes of pain. But again, you cannot live by that till the end of another new year.

To aid you truly in 2024, I will give you one fact.

“Your smallness is the truth.”

We are tiny in every way. A speck of dust in the universe, a small neighborhood in a sphere earth, a family against diverse races.

You can only affect what is limited, in your sight, your room, your thoughts. You can barely affect Martins who wants to sleep in on boys’ night out.

Remember:

Your smallness is what you must control.

Don’t force what escapes its walls. Flow with it.

Be curious about your power, and ignore what is beyond.

You have a chance for great intervention in your small room.

A chance to make a waiter smile on New Year’s Day.

You could sit down and wish for a simple life on a big farm.

But all of it will come down to what you choose.

So this is how I bid your entry into 2024.

With love, I remain yours. 😘

This letter is dedicated to David Phynel. It is you I write this one for.