In proper loving of self.

The method may be faulty.

A man may say selfishness is just and explain his logic about it.

Another may speak of justice, and sharing, and service.

I once argued with a friend about wanting to leave him for soccer while we were shooting a short film I had written.

He said it wasn’t fair to leave.

I asked, “What does fair mean to you?”

Another day he begged to leave the crew behind on set to attain a particular craving.

He met me this time and when he told me his plan, I asked:

“What does fair mean to you?”

He laughed his stomach out, slapped my shoulder back, and sat down in deep quiet contemplation.

He did not go anywhere, just as I did not go out to play soccer on my own day.

We are drawn to what is pleasing to us, till we find others drawn to what is pleasing to us.

But at the end of the day, how we love ourselves will come down to personal choices.

Remeber though that what is pleasing may not matter and what will matter will matter.

To focus on what truly matters to you is to love yourself, properly.

But again: “What does fair mean to you?”

Selah brothers and sisters.

Good luck on your day.