What should you expect from me?

Why AprilCentaur?

On Twitter, I wrote a short thread about providing children with better heroes.

It was not my intention to casually establish the needed point.

I only wished to slowly unveil my long-term intentions.

When I was nine years old, my mum purchased me a picture book on Greek heroes and mythologies.

From all I learned, Prometheus deserved celebration.

His innate love for mankind, and his willingness to share the sun’s warmth, even though it ended up enslaving him to eternal torture, was admirable, to say the least.

I was also drawn to the great exploits of Hercules and wished to become as strong as he was.

And it is no miracle that stories like this make you want to become someone capable of surmounting difficulties, especially when the odds are stacked against you.

This is what I feel tales are at their core — relative realities that push ideals forward.

But among them all, the character that remains with me today is Chiron the Centaur.

A sculpture of a Centaur.

Chiron was notable for his youth-nurturing nature.

He was intelligent, kind, and the teacher of many Greek heroes like Achilles and Jason.

Because of him, I imagined centaurs to be beings filled with wisdom, even though they were more of wild and free-reined creatures.

You can see why I chose the name, AprilCentaur.

But that is not the point. The point is why my story is important.

As a child, I needed a hero to inspire me.

We all need one, even as adults.

Our timeline is flooded with lots of cinematic heroes who are great but who give us an image of something we cannot achieve.

There is a need for real-life heroes separate from our celebrities.

And we can become the real-life heroes for children in our societies.

The doors for the new generation of greats will not open unless we give them a worthy symbol they can hope to imitate.

If not, a lot will be watered down in their eyes, and their attention will fall on the wrong things which we glorify.

Our tomorrow is important, but our today is vital because it can shape what tomorrow brings.

Weneedmoremilk

I am AprilCentaur still. A storyteller who believes the world needs more empathy.

And I am happy to say welcome to my first email.

See you next week ❤️.